Home>Sports>Hockey>Women’s Hockey Sweeps Maine
Hockey Sports

Women’s Hockey Sweeps Maine

Alex Berg | Sports Editor | 10-20-2011

The Bemidji State women’s hockey team traveled to Maine and picked up a pair of victories last weekend.

Friday’s game was a tight 3-2 overtime win while Saturday was a 7-0 blowout.

After a scoreless first period, the Maine Black Bears scored first when Myriam Croussette scored her fifth goal of the season.

BSU struck back when junior defender Erika Wheelhouse took advantage of a power play to even the score. The goal was her first of the season. She was assisted by senior defender Montana Vichorek and junior forward Sadie Lundquist.

Maine regained its lead in the third period when Danielle Ward scored on a penalty shot. The goal was her sixth of the year.

With less than two minutes remaining and their goalie pulled, the Beavers tied the game on a goal from junior forward Emily Erickson.

BSU wasted no time to end the overtime period as sophomore forward Tess Dusik scored on a power play goal in the opening minutes. Her second goal of the season was the game-winner for the Beavers.

Early on, Saturday’s game appeared to be another low-scoring contest. Vichorek scored the game’s only goal in the first 38 minutes.

Erickson scored two goals in the next three minutes, though, and the Beavers totaled five goals in the third period to make for a convincing 7-0 win. With her two goals, Erickson now has a team-leading five goals on the season.

After picking up an assist in Friday’s win, Lundquist recorded three more assists on Saturday.

BSU’s other four third period goals came from freshman forward Rachael Kelly, Wheelhouse, junior forward Molly Arola, and senior forward Lauren Williams.

In every shut-out there is good defense. Saturday was no exception; senior goalie Alana McElinney turned away all 17 shots from the Maine attack.

The Beavers (3-1-2) will host Women’s Collegiate Hockey Association opponent St. Cloud State next weekend at the Sanford Center. Both Friday and Saturday’s game will start at 2:07 p.m.